Finding My Passion

Some time ago, I decided that I did not want to have a job anymore.  Not that I don’t want to expend effort, not that I don’t want to support my family, or do my part in society, I’ll even work occasionally if I need to.  I just don’t want to have a job, or a boss, or a rigid schedule, among other things.  Some of these include:

  • being apart from my family for an extended amount of time
  • making sales quotas
  • action without purpose
  • anything that involves “The Man”
  • arbitrary rules and red tape
  • compromising my ethics and morals
  • a lack of control

A read quite a few articles on this topic, and it turns out there are quite a few people who have this same idea.  The general consensus was that one should follow their passion, and do what they love, and it would somehow magically feed their family, and put a roof over their heads.  I wasted no time, and immediately set about finding my passion.

My First Problem:  I am passionate about everything.  I love music, writing, working with kids, helping people succeed, gardening, cooking, and many others.

My Second Problem:  I am already working 40 hours a week, have a house and a vehicle to maintain, a family that I would like to spend time with, a budget to work out, and many other obligations.  How am I supposed to make a living from my passion if I am so busy!

My Third Problem:  Since the end game is making money, that is all I can really think about.  When you do something you are passionate about, you come alive inside, and when you try to find any way you can to turn your passion into money, you die.

The Solution:  I did a “Flash Forward” in my mind the other day, and Imagined I spent all this time trying to figure out how to make money without working, and figuring out what my passion was, all while working a regular job, so that I could spend more time with my family.  By the time I figured it out, the kids were grown, and moved away, and I had wasted all of those years running around like a head with my chicken cut off.  So, I have decided to be happy with what I have, and make the most of it.  I am still keeping my eyes open, looking for a better way, but that doesn’t mean I can’t enjoy what I have now.

 

 

 

One thought on “Finding My Passion

Leave a Reply

