Where I’m Going and Where I’ve Been

I have many goals, dreams, and aspirations about the future, and what I want it to look like.  All kinds of ideas about what I’d like to have and do, and the kind of person I’d like to be.  It can be depressing, sometimes, to think about how far I am from achieving my ideal life, and sometimes I beat myself up about it.

Something I often forget to think about, however, is that much of what I have now, is what I was longing for years ago.  To get married, to start a family, to have a job where I could help people, and didn’t have to compromise my values.  Maybe you are the same way.  Think about the dreams you had 5, 10, 20 or more years ago.  What were your dreams?  Think about what you have now, and how proud your previous self be if they could see that you finally reached that seemingly unreachable goal.  This applies not just to physical things, but also your mental and emotional state, relationships, and every other aspect of your life.

  • Buying a house
  • Overcoming an addiction
  • Getting a degree
  • Starting a business
  • Having a child
  • Having grandchildren
  • Retiring
  • Learning to relax
  • Moving to another state
  • Changing your diet
  • Visiting the grand canyon
  • Growing a garden
  • Learning to play an instrument

It is important to keep moving and growing, but it is also important not to forget where you started.  Your current self has done so many things that your former self could only dream about.

Leave a Reply

