Quote

I’m Afraid to Do What’s Right

“Disciplining yourself to do what you know is right and important, although difficult, is the highroad to pride, self-esteem, and personal satisfaction.” ~Margaret Thatcher

Life can be a struggle.  We are constantly faced with regrets of the past, and the uncertainty of the future.  Worry, doubt, and fear can overwhelm us.  Every day we have to decide how to use our time, and what course of action to take.  The choices we make can have a huge impact on our loved ones, and ourselves.

I have spent an unhealthy amount of time scouring the internet, trying to find the “right” thing to do, the “right” way to act, the “right” path.  And what I have discovered Is that I already know what is right.  Deep within myself I know the path I should take.  But more often than not, I ignore the voice inside of me, and do what I know is wrong.  Why? because I am afraid.  Afraid of failure, afraid of what others might think of me, afraid of discomfort, and afraid of disappointment.

“Do you have the patience to wait
Till your mud settles and the water is clear?
Can you remain unmoving
Till the right action arises by itself?” ~Lao Tzu

Be on the lookout for part 2 in this series, when I finally learn to do whats right.

 

Leave a Reply

