Lets Just Focus On Helping People

“The difference is slight, to the influence of an author, whether he is read by 500 readers, or by five hundred thousand; if he can select the 500, he reaches the five hundred thousand.” ~Brooks Adams

What a relief.  I was struggling to get 5 readers, never mind 500,000.  There are a lot of people out there artificially puffing up their numbers, using spamy ads that fill up the screen and distract from the content of the posts:  “Sign up Today” “Get Exclusive Content” “Rate This Article” “Read The Next Article.”  Take it easy killer, I haven’t even read the first line yet.

I won’t pretend that I know all about writing, or how to make money blogging, or how to build an audience, but I will pretend that I know something.  It seems to me that we have shifted our focus from helping people to getting followers, or likes, or shares, or pageviews, and many of us will stop at nothing to get them.  But I would rather help just one person to live a better life, than to have thousands of meaningless pageviews.

Leave a Reply

