Its Almost Here… (9 more days!)

Oh my!  Only 9 days left until the start of my August 2014 Local Eating Challenge!  I will be eating nothing that hasn’t been grown, raised, or caught within 100 Miles of my home.  I have a lot of changes to make, and a lot of planning to do in a short amount of time.

Procuring Produce:

I usually purchase my local produce at the farmer’s market.  Its quick, convenient, and all the vendors are in the same place.  The problem is that it is unpredictable, you never know which vendors will be there, and what kinds of items they will have left.  I will need something stable and predictable, so I plan on finding out exactly where these farms are, and going directly to them.  I know of a few places that grow fruits and vegetables, and one that raises animals for meat, but I still don’t know where I will be getting eggs and milk.  (Yes, I’m an omnivore, but if it makes you feel any better, the milk isn’t for me, its for the kids)

We also have a small garden in our front yard.  It has been producing a good number of green beans, peas, some kale, broccoli, and okra.  (The bugs ate the cabbage, and the pepper and squash plants are performing very poorly.

I’m not sure how much time I will have to forage, but I may step into the woods in search of some tasty treats.

Now were cooking with butter!

Lately I have been cooking with coconut oil and olive oil, and I am sorry to say that neither of those is local to my region.  It looks like my options are going to be bacon grease, or butter.

Seasoning is also going to be a trick.  I don’t know of any salt mines in my area, but I do have a few herbs growing in the garden.  Namely thyme, sage, and mint.

Oh, and I can’t forget about honey!  I’ll be sure to stock up at the beginning of the month.  It will go good in all the mint and sage tea I will be drinking.

Once the challenge starts  I will be posting recipes, daily menu’s, shopping lists and prices, and stories of my triumphs and failures.

 

Leave a Reply

