Changing the Roles in a Familiar Homeschooling Conversation

Good-Conversation-Emperor-Penguins-Snow-Hill-Island-Antarctica

I posted this on facebook, and it went over so well, that I decided to make it a blog post.  I am posting it on Dadosaurus Rex because I want all of my posts on my regular blog Do You Believe That to be completely and totally positive, and this one (while it is humorous) is a bit snarky.

I will probably never do this, but I was imagining what it would be like if I started talking to “public school parents” the way that many of them talk to me.

I would start by immediately assuming that they are homeschooled.

Me: “So, when did you start homeschooling?”
Public School Parent: “Oh, uh, they go to public school.”
Me: “oh” (Pregnant pause) “OH! I had a friend who sent her kids to public school. But what do you do for socialization?”
PSP: “What do you mean?”
Me: “You know, they just sit at their desks all day, not allowed to talk, with people who are all the same age, and mostly from the same economic, cultural and social background. How do you plan on socializing them?”
PSP: (Tries to give an answer but is interrupted by me asking more questions)
Me: “Aren’t you worried about bullies? What about school shootings? Don’t you think that you are wasting your child’s most precious years by institutionalizing them? Don’t you want to spend time with your children, Don’t you like them?

I would then walk away victorious, certain that my haphazard barrage of questions had completely changed their minds, and I could look forward to seeing them at the next homeschool playgroup.

Some may consider my dialogue presumptuous, or rude, and maybe it is.  But somehow, it is to be understood, that when you live your life in a way that is “different” because you are trying to do what is right for your family, its okay for you and your children to become the objects of public scrutiny and debate.  But the irony is, that most people who take the road less traveled have already asked themselves the difficult questions, they have counted the cost, and they have determined that this is the best course of action for them to take.  The people who just go with the flow, and do what is expected, for the most part, have not taken the time to weigh their options, but rest in knowing that if something does go wrong, they won’t be to blame.  They were just doing what they were supposed to.

Want more Dadosaurus Rex? Check out my facebook page www.fb.com/thedadosaur

6 thoughts on “Changing the Roles in a Familiar Homeschooling Conversation

  1. Oh I loved this! Six years later and I still answer these same questions over and over. And then there is the co-worker that asks me to explain it one more time because she doesn’t get it and isn’t it all too “loosey-goosey” without a teacher telling my kids what to learn.

    Like

    • Much of society resembles public school. People have forgotten how to think for themselves, and live for themselves. We have been taught that we are nothing, and know nothing, and we have to look to a pastor, or a teacher, or a government official for instruction.

      Like

Leave a Reply

