Letting Go Of Tools That No Longer Work

One of the symptoms of ADHD is a tendency to hyper-focus.  To be unable to remove one’s mind from a certain subject, and to become absolutely absorbed in it, and unable to focus on anything else.  This has both benefits and drawbacks.  One of the drawbacks is that it does not last forever.  Odds are what was enthralling a few months ago, now scarcely receives a second thought.

I am always on the lookout for a new scheme, a new method, a new mantra, or a new program to help me along on my life’s journey.  It could be anything.  A website for keeping track of tasks that need to be done; a phrase to repeat in my head when I am getting frustrated, or losing my cool.

When I find something that works, it is quite exciting.  I make quick progress, and wonder how I ever survived without my new favorite tool.  Everything starts falling into place.  Amazing.  Slowly, however, what was once joy turns to drudgery, and my miracle solution ceases to be miraculous.  I can’t really tell you exactly why this happens, but it does, and it can be quite devastating.  I have grown accustomed to the results that were once produced.  Why is the house so cluttered and messy, when I have been using my fool proof cleaning method?  Why I am constantly dropping the ball at work when I have my never-forget-a-task-again checklist?

There was a time when, to my hurt, I would force myself to keep going, to keep using a tool that is no longer working.  But over time I have discovered that it is better to be happy it worked for as long as it did, and move on.  The less time I spend in mourning, the more time I can spend developing my next big idea.

Leave a Reply

