He did WHAT in his cup?

cupIf you have seen the animated film Cars you may remember the scene where Lightning McQueen is telling the residents of Radiator Springs of Doc’s history as a race car.  He explains to them that Doc has won 3 Piston Cups, to which Tow Mater replies “He did what in his cup?”

Well I am proud to say that last night I was presented with my first Piston Cup.  My youngest son, who is 20 months, is learning to use the toilet.  He does not like diapers, and if we are home, he is usually naked from the waist down.  When he first abandoned his diapers a few months ago, he was pretty neutral as far as the toilet was concerned.  If you sat him on it, he would go, but mostly he would just go on the floor, and watch as Mom or Dad hurried to clean up.  Slowly though, he began to realize that it was more desirable to use the toilet, and he has been having fewer and fewer accidents.

Last night, he was upstairs in bed, watching a movie on the kindle with his brother and sisters.  He felt that call of nature, so he paused the movie and made for the stairs.  There just so happened to be an empty cup sitting on the first landing.  Seeing that he still had a measurable distance to the bathroom, and not wanting to create an unsightly slip hazard on the floor, he stood over the cup and relieved himself.  (This is one of the reasons why, if you have children,  you should never drink out of cups you find lying around the house, no matter how wasteful you feel just dumping things out.)

If your wondering how I reacted, the truth is, I didn’t.  He made a valiant effort, and showed spectacular resourcefulness, so there was no reason to reprimand, scold, or otherwise tell him he was wrong.  But I also am not keen on this becoming a recurring event, so I wasn’t about to praise him for it.  I don’t really think I could have said anything anyway, even if I wanted to, without breaking out into uncontrollable laughter.

Want more Dadosaurus Rex? Check out my facebook page www.fb.com/thedadosaur

7 thoughts on “He did WHAT in his cup?

  1. Hahhahaha! I have three boys, the youngest was allergic to diapers so they were off him way too young! Wish I had known about the piston cup idea – probably would have had even less laundry!! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks buddy! I really appreciate the recognition. Its not easy to come by. I have seen four little humans learn to use the toilet so far, and (as with most things) not pushing it is definitely the best thing you can do. Also, can I ask a personal question? Do you have any thoughts as far as education/school/learning for The Boy?

      Like

Leave a Reply

